South African Universities Water Polo

There are a few universities in South Agfrica that have traditionally participated in inter-varsity aquatic sports. Harry Getz set up the SAU organization in 1929, and the universities of Cape Town, Witwatersrand, Rhodes and the Trannsvaal University College (which became the University of Pretoria) competed for what became the Roberts Trophy. niversity of Natal joined in 1935.
  • University of Cape Town (Ikeys)
  • Stellenbosch University (Maties)
  • University of the Witwatersrand (Wits)
  • University of Pretoria (formerly the TUC - Transvaal University College) (Tukkies)
  • University of Natal (Pietermaritzburg)
  • University of the Orange Free State (Kovsies)
1939 - March 13

1984-SAU-Pietermaritzburg TUKS Tarnia Grant, Hanlie Susan, Worst, Springbok Dorothea Neumeister, Karen van Jaarsveld, Marina Sada-Malan
1929 Rhodes University swimmers