Swimming Clubs of southern Africa

The first aquatic sports clubs were formed during the late 1800's in Cape Town and Port Elizabeth, as well as the Natal towns of Durban and Pietermaritzburg. The British loved their sports clubs, and set them up everywhere in their colonies. The members were initially only men, and main focus ewas on water polo. Swimming, diving  and life saving competitons were also included at the provincial and national championships, and intially the clubs like Gordons SC in Cape Town and Queen's Park SC in Durban catered for all disciplines. Later swimming clubs changed to focus on swimming only.

Clubs were also formed at Mossel Bay, East London, Johannesburg, Pretoria and Bloemfontein in the Orange River Colony.  

Western Province swimming clubs

Gordons SC
City and Suburban SC
Manta SC

Eastern Province and Border swimming clubs

Port Elizabeth Amateur SC
PE Ladies SC
Uitenhage SC
FMC Swimming
Barrcuda Sc
Aquabear SC
Institute SC

OFS Swimming clubs

Transvaal Swimming Clubs

The four provinces of Northern, Southern, Western and Eastern Transvaal.

Old Edwardians - Johannesburg
Zoo Lake SC
Wanderers SC
Tukkies SC

Natal swimming clubs

Newcastle SC
Queen's Park  SC - Durban
Cygnus SC - Durban

Rhodesia and SWA swimming clubs