The forlorn image of the former Olympic swimming pool at the Angolan town of Cabinda.

Like Mozambique, colonial Angola was treated as a province of Portugal, as swimmers from both countries competed in national championship events in Portugal. The colonial authorities provided swimming pools and other sports facilities in many Angolan towns. Today few of these early swimming pools have survived today.

Recently there has been a new interest in aquatic sports, with new pools being constructed. The 13th CANA Zone IV Swimming Championships were held in Luanda, Angola from the 6th to the 9th of May 2015. The event was held at the 1973 complex at Alvalade.

Angola first competed at the Olympic Games in 1980. The team (below) included one woman - Michele Pessoa - plus six men including Fernando Lopes, Francisco Lopes Santos, Marcos Daniel, and Jorge Lima.

 Famous Angolan swimmers

The earliest of these would probably be Antonio Alves, who was the first colonial swimmer to compete in the Portuguese national championships, in 1954 winning both 100m and 200m freestyle titles.

Angolan independence was granted by Portugal in November 1975. The first time Angola competed at the Olympic Games in Moscow was in 1980. These are the Angolan swimming Olympians:

Francisco Santos was a national champion from 1972 to 198. He also represented his nation abroad several times, being the last time in the 1980 Olympics.

Ana Martins is an Angolan swimmer. She competed in two events at the 1988 Summer Olympics.

Carla Fernandes competed at the 1988 Olympics.

Fernando Lopes competed at the 1980 Olympics.

Nádia Cruz competed in 4 Olympic Games from 1988 to 2000.

Catarina Sousa competed at the 2020 Olympics.

Ana Sofia Nóbrega competed at the 2016 Olympics.

Ana Crysna da Silva Romero competed at the 2008 Olympics.

Mariana Henriques competed in two events at the 2012 Olympics.

Elsa Freire competed in two events at the 1988 and 1992 Olympics.

Michele Pessoa competed in two events at the 1980 Olympics.

Piscinas Do Alvalade - Luanda

The pool at Alvalade in 1971 and 1973, and in 2015.

The Club de Nune Alvares.

Angola 's swimming team at the start of the national championships - in the 1st line:. (Maria Tavares), Maria Adelaide (Milai); 2nd row: António Pinho, Jorge Conceição (Jocas), Isaura Portugal, Jorge Vaz Correia, Fernanda Carvalho (Nani); 3rd row: José Henrique Ferreira, José Pintassilgo (Coach), Pinto Bastos (leader of the Naval Club of Luanda), Braga Moreira (President of Nun'Álvares)

A gallery of Angloan swimming pools. 

Angola Uige Piscina

Angola Alto Catumbela 1

Angola Alto Catumbela 2

Angola Alto Catumbela 3

Angola Alto Catumbela 4

Angola Alto Catumbela 5

Angola Alto Catumbela 6

Angola Lubango 1972 2

Angola Lubango 1972

Angola Lubango 1973

Angola Mbanza Kongo 1

Angola Piscina Andrada Dondo 1

Angola Piscina Andrada Dondo 2

Angola Piscina Dundo Classe

Angola Salazar 1969

Angola Salazar Today

Angola Sao Morino 1

Angola Sao Morino 2

Angola Sao Morino 3

Angola Sao Morino 4

Angola Sao Morino 5

Angola Uige Polo Players

Angola Uige Piscina Municipal Jpg

Henrique De Carvalho Saurimo Olympic Pool

Henrique De Carvalho Saurimo 1 Angola

Henrique De Carvalho Saurimo Angola