South African Swimming Championships 1939 - Bloemfontein

Molly Ryde wins 4 titles          
13th Transvaal inter - High Schools gala at Ellis Park        

  Men       Women      

100 Terry Collard C Taylor WP Stanford     Molly Ryde S Mortimer R Horne
100 Junior DH Walker R Simpson            
100 Invitation B Neyt F Kothe D Smithers          
220 Terry Collard Peter Elliot George May     Molly Ryde Tony Olivier S Johnson
500           Molly Ryde S Johnson Toni Olivier

100 Invitation L Johnson WP Stanford       Hazel Holmes J Clark M Leemhuis
150           Molly Ryde    

100           Carle Gerke B Witt M Thompson
220 R Harcourt-Cooke J Smith R Selby I Tyrrell        

Free relay                

Diving – Open Cliffe Lubbe Geoff Mandy G Jooste     Marjory Harris Dewyn D Leitch
Water Polo Currie Cup              
Ellis Brown Trophy              

Transvaal         Natal      
  C Taylor         D Smithers    
  R Horne         F Kothe    
  S Mortimer         George May    
  B Neyt         Hazel Holmes    
  Farrow         DH Walker    
  Ramm         Marjory Harris diver  
  Peter Elliot         R Selby    
  Geoff Mandy diver       I Tyrrell    
  Cliffe Lubbe diver       B Witt    
  C Harcourt-Cooke              
  L Johnson              
  BE Leitch diver            
  J Smith              
  M Thompson              
Noord Transvaal Ntvl 7 – Rhod 1   Western Province WP 9 – OFS 1
  Terry Collard         WP Stanford    
  Tony Olivier         F Ruhn    
  Johnson         Johnson    
  Maisie Leemhuis         P Downes    
  J Franke              
  Dewyn diver            
Rhodesia         OFS      
  Aitken         G Jooste diver  
Eastern Province       Border      
  J Clark         DH Walker junior  

Articles below are from the Johannesburg Star and Transvaler newspapers