The old Transvaal Republic became a British colony after the Boer War in 1902, and then a large province in the Union of South Africa, which was created in 1910. For sporting purposes it was broken into a number of smaller entities -  Southern, Eastern, Western and Northern Transvaal. Southern Transvaal was usually just referred to as "Transvaal."

In the 1970's a sporting province known as the Vaal Triangle was created around Sasolburg, van der Bijl Park and Vereeniging.

NOTE: No maps showing the old provinces of South Africa were found online. Some towns shown here might have been in different provinces in the past. Provincial boundaries were redrawn after 1995.

Southern Transvaal 

Johannesburg and its surrounding towns. The gold mining capital of South Africa has numerous municpal, state and private school swimming facilities - and few dead pools.


The province centres around Johannesburg, which is the largest city in the country. The Ellis Park pool seen bottom left.


Sandton is an affluent area located north of the city of Johannesburg.


Midway between Johannesburg and Pretoria, the area was known as Halfwway House. It was a rural backwater along the Ben Schoeman highway - home to the Lipizzaner horses and the Kyalami Formula 1 race track. Today it is a sprawling mix of densely packed secure walled private estates and commercial properties located between the N1 Ben Schoeman highway and the old Pretoria road.

Northern Transvaal

The sporting province dates from the 1920's, originally part of Transvaal province. It covered an area that stretches in a V-shape north from Pretoria along the N1, to the Rhodesian/Zimbabwe border. It also included Rustenburg to the west, Pietersburg, Louis Trichard, Tzaneen and other smaller centres.

Western Transvaal

The home of the Mielieboere, this province stretched from the western suburbs of Johannesburg to the Botswana border. Towns inluded Rustenburg, Krugersdorp, Roodepoort, Potchefstroom and Klerksdorp. Smaller platteland towns included Stilfontein, Orkney and Lichtenburg. The Strathvaal Recreation Club pool (now derelict) in Stilfontein was used for the South African Schools Swimming Championships in 1968. 


The 7km's stretch of oak strees in Potchefstroom was declared a National Monument in 1976.

Eastern Transvaal

East of Joahannesburg - all the way to the Mozambique border, lies the Eastern Transvaal. The province, including towns like Benoni, Boksburg, Springs, Witbank, Ermelo, Nelspruit and numerous smaller centres was once a powerhouse of South African water polo. It was also the home of long headquarters of SAASU, under Boksburg attorney Issy Kramer.